Research/Scholarly Activity

Research Historical Milestones

2021 – Luis E Tollinche MD, FASA Joins MetroHealth as Departmental Chairperson

2021 – Hesham Elsharkawy MD, MBA, MSc, FASA is Appointed Director of Research

2022 – Samantha Pope Joins Research Team

2022 – Accept First Summer Chester Scholar, Peyton Traxler

2022 – Michael Platten Joins Research Team

2022 – Development of the Research Fellowship Begins

2023 – Marianne Tanios MD, MPH Joins Research Team

2023 – Accepts Second Summer Chester Scholar, Faith Kandie

2023 – Alexander Estright Joins Research Team

2024 – Faria Nisar MD & Nicolas Mas D’ Alessandro MD Join the Research Team

Research Statistics

Anesthesiology Department presenting a study

  • #1 Department in CREC Certifications in the Hospital System
  • Grants Submitted: 6
  • Undergraduate and Medical Student Mentored: 10
  • Current Number of Studies: 30 
  • Number of Patients Enrolled: > 100
  • Current Number of Manuscripts, Including Case Reports and Book Chapters:
    • In Progress: 19
    • Submitted for Publication: 11
    • Published: 40


Internal Collaborators

Obstetrics and Gynecology
Clodagh Mullen, MD

Kevin El-Hayek, MD
Natalie Joseph, MD
Christin Collins, MD

Emergency Medicine
Robert Jones, MD

Infection Disease
Michelle Hecker, MD

Fouseena Pazheri, MD

Weight Management
Eileen Seeholzer, MD

Center for Clinical Informatics Research and Education
David Kaelber, MD

Karey Infante
L’Tanya Arthur-Mensah

Data Scientist 
Hannah Hill

External Collaborators

European Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care

Clinical Trial Network

Memorial Sloan Kettering

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center 

New York University

Cleveland Clinic Foundation

Children's Hospital of Philadelphia 

Boston University

University of Turin 

Takeda Pharmaceuticals 

Curonix Peripheral Nerve Stimulator

Departmental Summary

Academic Activities chart

Departmental Project Breakdown chart

Research Fellowship Development

Dr. Marianne Tanios

Dr. Marianne Tanios
2023 -2024

Dr. Faria Nisar

Dr. Faria Nisar
2024 -2025

Dr. Nicolas Mas

Dr. Nicolas Mas
2024 -2025

The Chester Scholar Summer Program

The mission of the program is to encourage students to enter the health science profession, preferably medicine, with a strong research interest, and offer exposure in a clinical environment. The Program was established over 27 years ago to honor Dr. Edward Chester. More than 425 students from over 40 colleges and universities across the country have experienced this unique program.

Peyton Traxler 
Ohio Northern University 
Dexamethasone Quality Initiative Project
Dr. Augusto Torres

Peyton Traxler with his presentation 

Faith Kandie
Case Western Reserve University
The LOTUS Trial 
Dr. Matthew Sikora

Faith Kandie with her presentation 

Patient Safety Week Poster Contest

Sponsored by the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, this week is celebrated around the globe to bring awareness to patient safety and to recognize work that's already being done.

First Place Winner
Dexamethasone Quality Initiative Project
Dr. Andrew Yurkonis 
Dr. Augusto Torres
Dr. Luis Tollinche
Peyton Traxler
Hannah Hill

Dexamethasone Quality Initiative Project group

First Place Winner

Optimizing Presurgical Antibiotic Use
Dr. Fouseena Pazheri
Dr. Michelle Hecker
Dr. Luis Tollinche 
Dr. Marcos Izquierdo 
Kathleen Glaser
Hannah Hill

Optimizing Presurgical Antibiotic Use group

Visiting Professor

MetroHealth Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine Visiting Professor

Simon Gelman

Simon Gelman at a podium

Beverly Philip

Beverly Philip with MetroHealth leaders

Alfred C. Pinchak MD PhD Research Symposium

The Pinchak Symposium remains the highlight of the academic year for our Department. It has now expanded into an international conference that includes attendees from several countries with a record number of submissions and attendees. The event is testament to the legacy and continued stewardship of our very own Dr. Pinchak. We owe a debt of gratitude for his enthusiasm, commitment, and support of ensuring the success of his namesake symposium.

Alfred C. Pinchak

Sarah Rebstock MD PhD

University of Texas, Southwestern 
Children’s Medical Center
Dallas, Texas

Sarah Rebstock

Kokila N. Thenuwara
University of Iowa 
Carver College of Medicine 
Iowa City, Iowa

Kokila N. Thenuwara

Research Highlights

NIH-Funded –
Optimizing the Use of Ketamine to Reduce Chronic Postsurgical Pain: The KALPAS Trial

Externally Funded –
Phase 3 Trial of TAK-330 for Reversal of Direct Oral Factor Xa Inhibitor-Induced Anticoagulation

Internally Funded –
Tight perioperative blood pressure management to reduce serious cardiovascular, renal, and cognitive complications: The GUARDIAN trial

Internally Funded –
Lumbar Ultrasound Utility in Obstetric Patients with a BMI > 40: The LOTUS Trial

The First Cadaver Study to be done related to Pain management in the Anesthesia Department
Retrodural space A Cadaveric Evaluation
Pending Publication

Grant –
Peripheral Nerve Stimulator with Curonix in the Final Stages

Grant –
Gastric Ultrasound in Patients on GLP-1 Agonists (GULP)

Textbook –
Closing the Gap of Acute/Chronic Pain; Perioperative Management (TPC) 

Textbook –
Perioperative Anesthesia Considerations for Median Arcuate Ligament Syndrome (MALS)

Comprehensive Perioperative Pain Management: From Preoperative Optimization to Transitional Postoperative Care
Dr. Hesham Elsharkawy serves as editor of the book with multiple chapters that will be authored by MetroHealth staff and trainees, the first in Metro Anesthesia Pain Management Department history

Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Journal
Dr. Hesham Elsharkawy serves as Associate Editor

North American Neuromodulation Society (NANS) Committee
Dr. Hesham Elsharkawy serves as committee member

American Society of Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine 
Dr. Elsharkawy serves as committee Member

American Society of Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine, 
Dr. Hesham Elsharkawy Meeting Chair; Chronic Postoperative Pain Symposium, March 2023

Academic Promotions & Accomplishments

  • July 2023 – Dr. Hesham Elsharkawy Promoted to Professor
  • May 2023 – Dr. Kelly Lebak Appointed the Board of Directors for SAMBA
  • August 2023 – Dr. Kelly Lebak on the Planning Committee for OSA 
  • July 2023 – Dr. Michael Bassett Promoted to Associate Professor
  • July 2023 – Dr. Kelly Lebak Promoted to Associate Professor 
  • November 2022 – Dr. Matsuo POCUS Certified 
  • September 2022 – Dr. Dougall POCUS Certified
  • August 2022 – Dr. Leeds POCUS Certified
  • August 2022 – Dr. Gomez POCUS Certified 
  • January 2022 – Dr. Cristian Prada Promoted to Assistant Professor
  • June 2022 – Stephanie Geletka & Andrew Midgley Campus Transformation Ambassador Program
  • July 2021 – Dr. Ali Ali Promoted to Assistant Professor